Reviews

8.4
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.6
Comfort
8.5
Property location
8.7
Facilities
8.4
Staff
8.8
Value
7.2

Reviews

    Jack Lawther
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    19 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Irene
    es

    Review score

    8.3
    17 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Oliver
    gb

    Review score

    7.1
    16 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jeanette
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    16 September 2018
    The garden is absolutely gorgeous. It is expansive and around each curve of the winding path another breathtaking scene.
    tw

    Review score

    10
    7 September 2018
    good location
    Pablo Vicente
    no

    Review score

    9.2
    5 September 2018
    Very professional staff. They will try to help in every way they can.
    Joost
    nl

    Review score

    8.3
    2 September 2018
    Staf was really kind
    Lo Sho Rose
    hk

    Review score

    9.2
    26 August 2018
    Location, rooms very big in Japanese ryokan standards, beautiful garden
    Jenny917
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    26 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    laura
    it

    Review score

    10
    23 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Martina
    it

    Review score

    9.6
    21 August 2018
    The room was smelling a bit of smoke and it was a bit pricey.
    It's been amazing living the ryokan experience with typical rooms, japanese dinner and japanese breakfast (you need to like savoury breakfast in the morning with miso soup and fish). It was ok for us! The welcome guy was very nice although we struggled to communicate a bit. The onsen was extremely amazing and relaxing and the zen garden super typical and taken care in every minimal details.
    Dean
    qa

    Review score

    7.1
    10 August 2018

    Some nice aspects but some pretty poor ones too. Way overpriced.

    This room with half board cost over 62,000 yen. That's top dollar in my book. As a result, I expected something that justified the price. Staff were pleasant and helpful but there are definitely a few things that could be improved. Arriving hot and tired after wheeling cases from the station (less than ten minutes but hot, nonetheless), we were hoping for a drink but there are no facilities in reception bar vending machines and nothing was offered. We were an hour early but still had to wait for our room. As rooms have to be vacated by 10:00 am, I was surprised that we couldn't check in a little early. I don't know if this is a Japanese thing as I come across it in a couple of hotels here but it seems ridiculous as we ended up with a big queue at 3:00 and then had to wait whilst visitors were shown to their rooms. Rooms are allocated on arrival so you don't know what you are getting. We had a reasonable size room with garden view and a very small bathroom. They have two restaurants but again, you don't get to choose where you eat. We were told that dinner and breakfast would be served in our room. We really enjoyed our food here but be warned - there is no choice but what the chef gives you. This was all Japanese fayre. If you are coming to stay in a Ryoken like this, I hope you are open to this cultural experience! We were given nice yakuta to wear, socks and horrible plastic, sticky sandals. As this was our first time in Japan, it brings me to another issue. We had no idea what to do with these. We'd seen kimonos and yakuta being worn around town but had not looked closely enough to know how to wear it properly. A bit of Googling sorted it for us but it would have been nice to have some sort of gaijin orientation. The most important thing, by the way, is that the right side folds over the left. They dress corpses the other way around! Talking of gaijin orientation, preparing for our first onsen was also a challenge.
    The hotel is quite special. As you enter you face a huge picture window with views of the lush green gardens. The gardens really are spectacular - beautifully attended and well worth spending some time in. We took the half-board option and had an amazing Japanese dinner served in our room. I think I ate all eleven courses but my teenage daughter didn't appreciate some of the textures and flavours. She still enjoyed the experience though! The onsen is pleasant enough. Dedicated men's and women's (nude) separate areas with both indoor and outdoor pools plus the men get a little cave with another pool too. There is also a family friendly mixed sex pool (swimming cossies) with loungers. A couple of nice private onsen that you can't book but are free to use when available rounds off the onsen menu.
    Robert
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    1 August 2018

    Amazing gardens and the staff are very friendly and accommodating.

    swimmimg pool
    Andrea Di Rago
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    27 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jessica
    ie

    Review score

    6.2
    26 July 2018

    Pleasant

    Pleasant stay in a nice location however the room was a little shabbier than expected from the photos when we originally booked.
    Angeliki Nikolakaki Anagnosti
    gr

    Review score

    9.2
    8 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Alex
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    22 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    H
    ca

    Review score

    9.6
    22 August 2018

    Excellent experience!

    None
    Friendly and helpful staff, excellent dinner and breakfast! We were upgraded to connecting rooms because we had four people. The hot spring was amazing and there’s many to choose from! The beautiful garden that surrounds the property is very pleasant and relaxing!
    us

    Review score

    6.2
    13 August 2018

    Lovely place but not worth the price.

    Room was quite hot (we visited in July). Overpriced for value. Furniture seemed old. Floor futon quite thin.
    Beautiful view, onsen very nice and clean.
    CHRISTOPHER
    us

    Review score

    8.8
    8 August 2018

    Genuine Japanese experience

    A little difficult to communicate re: English skills of staff.
    Gave a great Japanese experience. Our staff member, Aya, was fabulous and took good care of us serving the delicious meals. Great outdoor pool for hot days.
Loading reviews